Verified EV diagnostic knowledge page

Subaru P0024

HEV Drive Motor Diag Diag Procedure w/ DTC >DTC P1CCC96 A change was made to step #2 of the TT Engine Fuel Injection Throttle Body >Inspection >Throttle Sensor Notes were added and

DriveUnknown. The verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle can be driven with P0024.
ChargeUnknown. The verified evidence does not state whether charging is affected by P0024.
ServiceContact a Subaru dealer or qualified service facility for diagnosis if P0024 is stored. The verified evidence identifies a Subaru service-documentation revision, but does not provide enough detail to determine the fault or repair.
Confidence95%

Quick answer

For 2019–2021 Subaru Crosstrek vehicles in the US, verified evidence links P0024 to a Subaru service-manual update. The available evidence does not establish a vehicle fault meaning, symptoms, drivability, charging status, or a repair for P0024.

This page separates verified manufacturer/regulator evidence from supporting material. Unsupported causes, repairs or safety conclusions are not guessed.

Video guides

Watch Videos

Relevant videos play here without leaving this diagnostic page.

No sufficiently relevant embeddable video has been accepted for this diagnostic yet.

Videos are supporting material and never override OEM or regulator evidence.

1. What does P0024 mean?

For 2019–2021 Subaru Crosstrek vehicles in the US, verified evidence links P0024 to a Subaru service-manual update. The available evidence does not establish a vehicle fault meaning, symptoms, drivability, charging status, or a repair for P0024.

2. Technical explanation

The supplied record labels P0024 with text from Subaru diagnostic documentation. The verified NHTSA manufacturer communication states that, for 2021 Impreza/Crosstrek diagnostics, steps were added to the diagnostic procedures for P0011, P0014, P0021, and P0024. The same communication also references a separate P-HEV drive-motor diagnostic procedure for DTC P1CCC96. The evidence does not establish that P0024 itself is a hybrid-drive-motor code or that the supplied canonical title is a technical definition of P0024.

3. What system is affected?

Not yet established by verified evidence. The source places P0024 under an Engine Diagnostics diagnostic procedure, but does not identify a specific failed component or subsystem.

4. How serious is this code?

Unknown. No severity classification is established by the verified evidence.

5. Symptoms you may notice

  • Not yet established by verified evidence.

6. Possible causes

  • Not yet established by verified evidence.

7. Can I still drive the vehicle?

Unknown. The verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle can be driven with P0024.

8. Can I charge the vehicle?

Unknown. The verified evidence does not state whether charging is affected by P0024.

9. What you can safely do

  • Record the stored code and any accompanying codes before clearing them.
  • Arrange diagnosis using the applicable Subaru diagnostic procedure.
  • Do not assume that the separate P-HEV drive-motor reference for DTC P1CCC96 applies to P0024.

10. Step-by-step troubleshooting

  1. Use the Subaru diagnostic procedure for P0024 applicable to the vehicle year and configuration. The verified communication says steps were added to the P0024 diagnostic procedure for 2021 Impreza/Crosstrek documentation.
  2. Not yet established by verified evidence: the individual diagnostic steps, test values, component checks, and repair criteria.

11. When to contact service

Contact a Subaru dealer or qualified service facility for diagnosis if P0024 is stored. The verified evidence identifies a Subaru service-documentation revision, but does not provide enough detail to determine the fault or repair.

12. What the service center may check

  • Confirm vehicle applicability: Subaru Crosstrek, US market, model years 2019–2021.
  • Check the current Subaru service information for the P0024 diagnostic procedure and any revisions.
  • Not yet established by verified evidence: exact inspection steps or specifications.

13. Possible repair or resolution

  • Not yet established by verified evidence.

14. Affected vehicles

15. Related TSBs / service bulletins

  • NHTSA Manufacturer Communication PDF 10201035, Subaru bulletin 18-214-21, dated August 11, 2021. It reports that diagnostic steps were added for P0011, P0014, P0021, and P0024 in 2021 Impreza/Crosstrek documentation.
  • The communication is a service-information update; the supplied evidence does not establish a specific P0024 repair, warranty action, or component replacement.

16. Recall information

  • Not yet established by verified evidence. No recall is identified in the supplied data.

17. Official manufacturer information

Official source: NHTSA Manufacturer Communication PDF 10201035, Subaru bulletin 18-214-21, published August 11, 2021: https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2021/MC-10201035-0001.pdf

19. Frequently asked questions

What does P0024 mean on the listed Subaru Crosstrek?

The supplied verified evidence does not establish a technical fault definition for P0024. It establishes that Subaru added steps to its P0024 diagnostic procedure in a 2021 service-information update.

Does P0024 indicate a hybrid drive-motor problem?

Not established by verified evidence. The source separately mentions a P-HEV drive-motor procedure for DTC P1CCC96; it does not state that P0024 is that drive-motor code.

Is there a Subaru bulletin related to P0024?

Yes. Subaru bulletin 18-214-21, available through NHTSA as communication 10201035, says steps were added to the P0024 diagnostic procedure for 2021 Impreza/Crosstrek documentation.

Can I drive or charge with P0024?

Not established by verified evidence. The supplied source does not provide driving or charging guidance for P0024.

20. Sources & verification

ReferenceVerified
Subaru P0024: HEV Drive Motor Diag Diag Procedure w/ DTC >DTC P1CCC96… | EV Diagnostics