Verified EV diagnostic knowledge page

Ford P0A74

board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board diagnostic module B (SO

DriveUnknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle is safe to drive with P0A74.
ChargeUnknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle is safe to charge with P0A74.
ServiceService is appropriate because Ford SSM 50151 identifies P0A74 as a possible DTC on the listed vehicles. The supplied evidence does not state urgency or a specific repair requirement.
Confidence95%

Quick answer

Ford DTC P0A74 is documented in the supplied evidence for certain 2020–2021 US Ford Escape and Mustang Mach-E vehicles. The provided title/meaning is truncated and identifies the secondary on-board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board diagnostic module B (SOBDMB).

This page separates verified manufacturer/regulator evidence from supporting material. Unsupported causes, repairs or safety conclusions are not guessed.

Video guides

Watch Videos

Relevant videos play here without leaving this diagnostic page.

No sufficiently relevant embeddable video has been accepted for this diagnostic yet.

Videos are supporting material and never override OEM or regulator evidence.

1. What does P0A74 mean?

Ford DTC P0A74 is documented in the supplied evidence for certain 2020–2021 US Ford Escape and Mustang Mach-E vehicles. The provided title/meaning is truncated and identifies the secondary on-board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board diagnostic module B (SOBDMB).

2. Technical explanation

NHTSA Manufacturer Communication 10201604, Ford SSM 50151, lists P0A74 among DTCs that may be set by the SOBDMC or SOBDMB. The supplied evidence does not provide the complete fault definition, diagnostic procedure, or component-level root cause for P0A74.

3. What system is affected?

Secondary on-board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board diagnostic module B (SOBDMB), as identified by the supplied Ford/NHTSA communication.

4. How serious is this code?

Unknown. The supplied verified evidence does not assign a severity level.

5. Symptoms you may notice

  • The supplied NHTSA/Ford communication indicates there may be a message in the instrument panel cluster (IPC).
  • No P0A74-specific symptom pattern is established by the supplied evidence.

6. Possible causes

  • Not yet established by verified evidence.

7. Can I still drive the vehicle?

Unknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle is safe to drive with P0A74.

8. Can I charge the vehicle?

Unknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle is safe to charge with P0A74.

9. What you can safely do

  • Arrange professional diagnosis by a Ford dealer or qualified EV service facility.
  • Record any instrument panel message and all stored diagnostic trouble codes before service.
  • Do not attempt high-voltage system or module repair based on this information.

10. Step-by-step troubleshooting

  1. Retrieve and document all stored DTCs and instrument panel messages for the service provider.
  2. The supplied evidence does not establish a safe owner-level diagnostic or repair procedure for P0A74.

11. When to contact service

Service is appropriate because Ford SSM 50151 identifies P0A74 as a possible DTC on the listed vehicles. The supplied evidence does not state urgency or a specific repair requirement.

12. What the service center may check

  • Confirm vehicle applicability: 2020–2021 Ford Escape or Mustang Mach-E, US market.
  • Check for P0A74 and any accompanying DTCs listed in Ford SSM 50151.
  • Review the applicable Ford service information and SSM 50151. Further prescribed checks are not included in the supplied evidence.

13. Possible repair or resolution

  • Not yet established by verified evidence.

14. Affected vehicles

15. Related TSBs / service bulletins

  • Ford SSM 50151, published September 24, 2021; NHTSA Manufacturer Communication 10201604. It lists P0A74 among possible DTCs set by SOBDMC or SOBDMB and references a possible IPC message. The supplied extract does not include the full bulletin instructions or repair outcome.

16. Recall information

  • Not yet established by verified evidence.

17. Official manufacturer information

Official source supplied: NHTSA Manufacturer Communication 10201604, Ford SSM 50151, published 2021-09-24: https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/ffdd/tsbs/TSBS_RECEIVED_2020-2024.zip#nhtsa_id=10201604

19. Frequently asked questions

Which vehicles are covered by the supplied evidence?

The supplied applicability data identifies US-market 2020–2021 Ford Escape and 2020–2021 Ford Mustang Mach-E vehicles.

What does P0A74 mean?

The supplied database meaning is truncated. It identifies board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board diagnostic module B (SOBDMB), but does not provide a complete fault description.

Is P0A74 safe to drive or charge with?

Not yet established by verified evidence.

Is there an official Ford communication for P0A74?

Yes. Ford SSM 50151, filed with NHTSA as Manufacturer Communication 10201604, lists P0A74 among possible DTCs.

20. Sources & verification

ReferenceVerified
Ford P0A74: board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board… | EV Diagnostics