Verified EV diagnostic knowledge page

Tesla BMS_a067

High voltage battery performance limited OK to drive - Schedule service soon

Common search variants: BMSa067 · BMS-a067 · BMS a067 · Search ignores case and common separators.

DriveYes. Tesla documentation states that the vehicle is OK to drive.
ChargeNot yet established by verified evidence. The documentation states that charging may take longer, but does not state whether charging is unavailable or prohibited.
ServiceSchedule Tesla service at your earliest convenience if BMS_a067 persists.
Confidence95%

Quick answer

Tesla alert BMS_a067 means the vehicle detected a condition internal to the high-voltage battery that is limiting battery performance. The vehicle is OK to drive; if the alert persists, schedule service at your earliest convenience.

This page separates verified manufacturer/regulator evidence from supporting material. Unsupported causes, repairs or safety conclusions are not guessed.

Video guides

Watch Videos

Relevant videos play here without leaving this diagnostic page.

No sufficiently relevant embeddable video has been accepted for this diagnostic yet.

Videos are supporting material and never override OEM or regulator evidence.

1. What does BMS_a067 mean?

Tesla alert BMS_a067 means the vehicle detected a condition internal to the high-voltage battery that is limiting battery performance. The vehicle is OK to drive; if the alert persists, schedule service at your earliest convenience.

2. Technical explanation

Tesla documentation submitted to NHTSA states that service is required to restore full performance. The maximum driving range may be reduced, charging may take longer, and maximum charge level and range may be reduced further without service.

3. What system is affected?

High-voltage battery.

4. How serious is this code?

Service is required to restore full performance. The supplied diagnostic record does not assign a severity level.

5. Symptoms you may notice

  • BMS_a067 alert: “High voltage battery performance limited OK to drive - Schedule service soon.”
  • Maximum driving range may be reduced.
  • Charging may take longer.
  • Without service, further reductions in maximum charge level and range may occur.

6. Possible causes

  • Tesla documentation identifies a condition internal to the high-voltage battery that limits battery performance. A more specific underlying cause is not established by the verified evidence.

7. Can I still drive the vehicle?

Yes. Tesla documentation states that the vehicle is OK to drive.

8. Can I charge the vehicle?

Not yet established by verified evidence. The documentation states that charging may take longer, but does not state whether charging is unavailable or prohibited.

9. What you can safely do

  • If the alert persists, schedule Tesla service at your earliest convenience.
  • Plan for reduced range and potentially longer charging time.
  • Do not attempt high-voltage battery diagnosis, disassembly, or repair yourself.

10. Step-by-step troubleshooting

  1. Confirm whether the BMS_a067 alert remains present.
  2. Arrange service if the alert persists, as directed in Tesla documentation.
  3. Specific owner-performed diagnostic procedures are not established by verified evidence.

11. When to contact service

Schedule Tesla service at your earliest convenience if BMS_a067 persists.

12. What the service center may check

  • Inspect and diagnose the high-voltage battery condition limiting performance. Further service-check details are not established by verified evidence.

13. Possible repair or resolution

  • Service is required to restore full performance. The specific repair or replacement procedure is not established by verified evidence.

14. Affected vehicles

15. Related TSBs / service bulletins

  • NHTSA manufacturer communications document the BMS_a067 alert and its owner guidance, including NHTSA communications MC-10250480-9999, MC-10250484-9999, MC-10250485-9999, MC-10250486-9999, MC-10250488-9999, MC-10250489-9999, and MC-10250490-9999. These supplied records are owner-manual/manufacturer communications; a model-specific repair bulletin is not established by the verified evidence.

16. Recall information

  • Not yet established by verified evidence.

17. Official manufacturer information

Verified NHTSA-hosted Tesla manufacturer communications: https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2023/MC-10250480-9999.pdf and https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2024/MC-10253666-9999.pdf. Verified applicability records identify US Tesla Model 3 (2013–2024), Model S (2012–2024), Model X (2016–2024), and Model Y (2020–2024), with overlapping year ranges in the supplied data.

19. Frequently asked questions

What does Tesla BMS_a067 mean?

It means the vehicle detected a condition internal to the high-voltage battery that is limiting battery performance.

Can I drive with BMS_a067?

Yes. Tesla documentation states that the vehicle is OK to drive.

What changes might I notice?

Range may be reduced, charging may take longer, and the maximum charge level and range may reduce further without service.

What should I do if BMS_a067 remains displayed?

Schedule service at your earliest convenience, as directed by Tesla documentation.

20. Sources & verification

Accepted ResearchVerified
Show all 58 verified sources
Tesla BMS_a067: High voltage battery performance limited OK to drive -… | EV Diagnostics