Verified EV diagnostic knowledge page

Ford P1A0E

board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board diagnostic module B (SOBDMB). This may be due to a drop in

DriveUnknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle is safe to drive with P1A0E.
ChargeUnknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle is safe to charge with P1A0E.
ServiceService need is unknown in the supplied database record. Professional diagnosis is appropriate because the code is associated with on-board diagnostic modules and the available evidence does not provide a complete cause or repair instruction.
Confidence95%

Quick answer

Ford DTC P1A0E is documented in NHTSA Manufacturer Communication 10201604 (SSM 50151) as a code that may be set by the secondary on-board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board diagnostic module B (SOBDMB). The supplied evidence does not establish the full condition description because the source excerpt ends at “This may be due to a drop in”.

This page separates verified manufacturer/regulator evidence from supporting material. Unsupported causes, repairs or safety conclusions are not guessed.

Video guides

Watch Videos

Relevant videos play here without leaving this diagnostic page.

No sufficiently relevant embeddable video has been accepted for this diagnostic yet.

Videos are supporting material and never override OEM or regulator evidence.

1. What does P1A0E mean?

Ford DTC P1A0E is documented in NHTSA Manufacturer Communication 10201604 (SSM 50151) as a code that may be set by the secondary on-board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board diagnostic module B (SOBDMB). The supplied evidence does not establish the full condition description because the source excerpt ends at “This may be due to a drop in”.

2. Technical explanation

The verified source associates P1A0E with SOBDMC or SOBDMB and lists it among multiple possible DTCs. The database canonical title and meaning are incomplete, ending with “This may be due to a drop in”; no further technical interpretation is established by the supplied evidence.

3. What system is affected?

Secondary on-board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board diagnostic module B (SOBDMB), as identified by the verified NHTSA manufacturer communication.

4. How serious is this code?

Unknown. The supplied verified evidence does not provide a severity classification.

5. Symptoms you may notice

Not yet established by verified evidence.

6. Possible causes

  • Not yet established by verified evidence. The available source excerpt states only that the condition “may be due to a drop in” and does not provide the remainder of the cause statement.

7. Can I still drive the vehicle?

Unknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle is safe to drive with P1A0E.

8. Can I charge the vehicle?

Unknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle is safe to charge with P1A0E.

9. What you can safely do

  • Arrange professional diagnosis if P1A0E is present.
  • Do not attempt high-voltage system repair based on this code alone.

10. Step-by-step troubleshooting

  1. Have a qualified technician retrieve and evaluate all stored diagnostic trouble codes. The verified communication lists P1A0E alongside several other possible DTCs.
  2. Not yet established by verified evidence: a specific diagnostic test sequence or repair procedure for P1A0E.

11. When to contact service

Service need is unknown in the supplied database record. Professional diagnosis is appropriate because the code is associated with on-board diagnostic modules and the available evidence does not provide a complete cause or repair instruction.

12. What the service center may check

  • Retrieve all DTCs, including any accompanying codes. The verified communication lists P1A0E with P0A23, P0A6F, P0A72, P0A75, P0A71, P0A74, P0A77, P0DFA, P06B1, and P0A47.
  • Consult NHTSA Manufacturer Communication 10201604, SSM 50151, for the applicable vehicle and complete manufacturer guidance. The supplied excerpt does not include the full procedure.

13. Possible repair or resolution

  • Not yet established by verified evidence.

14. Affected vehicles

15. Related TSBs / service bulletins

  • NHTSA Manufacturer Communication 10201604, SSM 50151, published September 24, 2021. It identifies P1A0E as one of several DTCs that may be set by SOBDMC or SOBDMB. The supplied excerpt is incomplete and does not establish a repair.

16. Recall information

No recall relationship is established by verified evidence.

17. Official manufacturer information

Verified official source: NHTSA Manufacturer Communication 10201604, SSM 50151 (September 24, 2021): https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/ffdd/tsbs/TSBS_RECEIVED_2020-2024.zip#nhtsa_id=10201604

19. Frequently asked questions

What does Ford P1A0E mean?

The verified evidence identifies P1A0E as a DTC that may be set by SOBDMC or SOBDMB. A complete meaning is not established because the available text is truncated.

Which vehicles are covered by the supplied evidence?

The database applicability records identify U.S.-market 2020–2021 Ford Escape and 2020–2021 Ford Mustang Mach-E vehicles.

Can I drive or charge with P1A0E?

Not yet established by verified evidence. The supplied record marks both driving and charging status as unknown.

20. Sources & verification

Verified
Ford P1A0E: board diagnostic module C (SOBDMC) or secondary on-board… | EV Diagnostics