Verified EV diagnostic knowledge page

Audi Electric drive: fault. Please contact workshop

Electric drive: fault. Please contact workshop

DriveUnknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle can be driven after this alert appears.
ChargeUnknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle can be charged after this alert appears.
ServiceYes. The warning explicitly instructs the driver to contact a workshop. Audi technical bulletins document workshop diagnosis for a related condition on applicable Q4 e-tron vehicles.
Confidence90%

Quick answer

For applicable US-market 2022–2024 Audi Q4 e-tron vehicles, this alert is documented in Audi technical service bulletins as occurring with fault codes stored in the Hybrid Battery Management control unit. Contact an Audi workshop for diagnosis.

This page separates verified manufacturer/regulator evidence from supporting material. Unsupported causes, repairs or safety conclusions are not guessed.

Video guides

Watch Videos

Relevant videos play here without leaving this diagnostic page.

No sufficiently relevant embeddable video has been accepted for this diagnostic yet.

Videos are supporting material and never override OEM or regulator evidence.

1. What does Electric drive: fault. Please contact workshop mean?

For applicable US-market 2022–2024 Audi Q4 e-tron vehicles, this alert is documented in Audi technical service bulletins as occurring with fault codes stored in the Hybrid Battery Management control unit. Contact an Audi workshop for diagnosis.

2. Technical explanation

The verified evidence identifies the dashboard message “Electric drive: fault. Please contact workshop” as an Audi OEM alert. Audi/NHTSA manufacturer communications document a specific bulletin scenario in which the message can be reproduced and one or more related diagnostic trouble codes are stored in Hybrid Battery Management (BMCe) J840, address word 008C. This evidence does not establish that every occurrence of this alert has the same cause.

3. What system is affected?

Electric drive / Hybrid Battery Management (BMCe) J840, address word 008C, in the documented bulletin scenario.

4. How serious is this code?

Unknown. The supplied verified evidence does not assign a severity level.

5. Symptoms you may notice

  • The dash panel displays: “Electric drive: fault. Please contact workshop.”

6. Possible causes

  • In the documented Audi bulletin scenario, DTC P0C4A00 may be stored: “Activation of coolant pump 1 for hybrid/high voltage battery malfunction.”
  • In the documented Audi bulletin scenario, DTC P0CFF00 may be stored: “Hybrid/EV Battery Pack Coolant Pump Stuck.”
  • The supplied evidence also identifies DTC P2B2800 as potentially stored in Hybrid Battery Management, but its full description is not established by the supplied evidence.
  • A general cause for every instance of this dashboard alert is not yet established by verified evidence.

7. Can I still drive the vehicle?

Unknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle can be driven after this alert appears.

8. Can I charge the vehicle?

Unknown. The supplied verified evidence does not state whether the vehicle can be charged after this alert appears.

9. What you can safely do

  • Contact an Audi workshop, as directed by the displayed warning message.
  • Do not attempt high-voltage battery, coolant-pump, or Hybrid Battery Management repairs yourself.

10. Step-by-step troubleshooting

  1. A qualified workshop can check Hybrid Battery Management (BMCe) J840 at address word 008C for the DTCs documented in the applicable Audi bulletin: P0C4A00, P0CFF00, and/or P2B2800.
  2. Further owner-level troubleshooting is not established by verified evidence.

11. When to contact service

Yes. The warning explicitly instructs the driver to contact a workshop. Audi technical bulletins document workshop diagnosis for a related condition on applicable Q4 e-tron vehicles.

12. What the service center may check

  • Verify the customer complaint and the displayed warning message.
  • Scan Hybrid Battery Management (BMCe) J840, address word 008C, for DTC P0C4A00, P0CFF00, and/or P2B2800, consistent with the documented bulletin scenario.
  • Use the applicable Audi service information for complete diagnostic and repair procedures.

13. Possible repair or resolution

  • The supplied evidence confirms that Audi issued service-bulletin guidance for this condition, including revised service instructions and parts/tools information.
  • The specific repair procedure and final repair resolution are not established by the supplied evidence excerpts.

14. Affected vehicles

15. Related TSBs / service bulletins

  • Audi TSB/Manufacturer Communication 10227024, bulletin 93 22 83 2068363/1, published November 7, 2022. It applies to 2022 Q4 e-tron quattro and Q4 Sportback e-tron quattro and documents the warning with P0C4A00, P0CFF00, and/or P2B2800 in BMCe J840.
  • Audi TSB/Manufacturer Communication 10235529, bulletin A9323042068363_2, published April 25, 2023. The evidence identifies 2022–2023 Q4 e-tron and Q4 Sportback e-tron applicability.
  • Audi TSB/Manufacturer Communication 10237007, bulletin A9323062068363_3, published May 9, 2023. It includes revised service information and applies to 2022–2023 Q4 e-tron and Q4 Sportback e-tron according to the evidence excerpt.
  • Audi TSB/Manufacturer Communication 10243974, bulletin A9323312068363_4, published October 2, 2023. It includes revised service instructions and an added model year, but the complete applicability details are not established by the excerpt.
  • Audi TSB/Manufacturer Communication 11005977, bulletin A9324972068363_5, published July 31, 2024. It includes revised service information and updated parts/tools information, but complete applicability details are not established by the excerpt.

16. Recall information

  • No recall information is supplied or established by the verified evidence.

17. Official manufacturer information

Verified official sources are NHTSA-hosted Audi manufacturer communications. The supplied applicability data identifies US-market Audi Q4 e-tron model years 2022–2024. The bulletin evidence specifically references Q4 e-tron and Q4 Sportback e-tron model-year ranges that vary by bulletin.

19. Frequently asked questions

What does “Electric drive: fault. Please contact workshop” mean?

It is an Audi OEM dashboard alert directing the driver to contact a workshop. In a documented Audi bulletin scenario, the message is associated with diagnostic faults stored in Hybrid Battery Management BMCe J840.

What fault codes are documented with this warning?

Audi bulletin evidence identifies P0C4A00, P0CFF00, and/or P2B2800 in Hybrid Battery Management BMCe J840, address word 008C. The supplied evidence provides descriptions for P0C4A00 and P0CFF00 only.

Is it safe to drive or charge?

Not yet established by verified evidence. The supplied evidence does not provide driveability or charging guidance.

Does this alert always mean the battery coolant pump is faulty?

No. The evidence documents a specific bulletin scenario involving coolant-pump-related DTCs, but it does not establish one cause for every occurrence of the alert.

20. Sources & verification

Verified
Audi Electric drive: fault. Please contact workshop: Electric drive:… | EV Diagnostics