Verified EV diagnostic knowledge page

Ford P2096

Built on 09/01/2012 and through 08/01/2013

DriveUnknown. The supplied evidence does not establish whether the vehicle is safe to drive with P2096.
ChargeUnknown. The supplied evidence does not establish charging implications or whether charging is safe.
ServiceService is recommended because the verified Ford TSB concerns an illuminated MIL with DTC P2096. The evidence does not state whether service is urgent.
Confidence95%

Quick answer

P2096 is documented by Ford TSB 16-0031 for certain 2013–2014 US Ford Focus and Fusion vehicles with a 2.0L GTDO engine, built from September 1, 2012 through August 1, 2013, when the MIL is illuminated. The supplied evidence does not establish an EV-specific fault meaning, driving safety, charging safety, cause, or repair.

This page separates verified manufacturer/regulator evidence from supporting material. Unsupported causes, repairs or safety conclusions are not guessed.

Video guides

Watch Videos

Relevant videos play here without leaving this diagnostic page.

DTC Chevrolet P2096 Short ExplanationMaxidot Chevrolet
DTC Pontiac P2096 Short ExplanationMaxidot
P2096 | p2096 post catalyst fuel trim system too lean bank 1 | code p2096 | obd2 p2096IG Garage

Videos are supporting material and never override OEM or regulator evidence.

1. What does P2096 mean?

P2096 is documented by Ford TSB 16-0031 for certain 2013–2014 US Ford Focus and Fusion vehicles with a 2.0L GTDO engine, built from September 1, 2012 through August 1, 2013, when the MIL is illuminated. The supplied evidence does not establish an EV-specific fault meaning, driving safety, charging safety, cause, or repair.

2. Technical explanation

Verified evidence identifies this as a Ford manufacturer communication: TSB 16-0031, titled “2.0L GTDO - Illuminated MIL with DTC P2096 - Built on 09/01/2012 and through 08/01/2013.” The available record does not provide the diagnostic definition of P2096, test procedure, affected component, root cause, or corrective action.

3. What system is affected?

Not yet established by verified evidence.

4. How serious is this code?

Unknown. The supplied evidence confirms an illuminated malfunction indicator lamp (MIL) in the TSB title, but does not assign a severity level.

5. Symptoms you may notice

  • Illuminated MIL, as stated in Ford TSB 16-0031.

6. Possible causes

  • Not yet established by verified evidence.

7. Can I still drive the vehicle?

Unknown. The supplied evidence does not establish whether the vehicle is safe to drive with P2096.

8. Can I charge the vehicle?

Unknown. The supplied evidence does not establish charging implications or whether charging is safe.

9. What you can safely do

  • Arrange diagnosis by a qualified Ford service provider.
  • Provide the stored DTC P2096 and ask the provider to check applicability of Ford TSB 16-0031.
  • Do not attempt high-voltage system repair based on this information.

10. Step-by-step troubleshooting

  1. Confirm the vehicle is a 2013–2014 US Ford Focus or Fusion.
  2. Confirm whether the vehicle has the 2.0L GTDO engine and was built from September 1, 2012 through August 1, 2013.
  3. Have a qualified service provider retrieve diagnostic information and evaluate TSB 16-0031 applicability. Further diagnostic steps are not established by the supplied verified evidence.

11. When to contact service

Service is recommended because the verified Ford TSB concerns an illuminated MIL with DTC P2096. The evidence does not state whether service is urgent.

12. What the service center may check

  • Verify vehicle model, model year, engine configuration, and build-date eligibility for Ford TSB 16-0031.
  • Confirm the presence of DTC P2096 and an illuminated MIL.
  • Review Ford TSB 16-0031 for the applicable diagnostic and repair procedure. Its procedure is not included in the supplied evidence.

13. Possible repair or resolution

  • Not yet established by verified evidence.

14. Affected vehicles

15. Related TSBs / service bulletins

  • Ford TSB 16-0031: “2.0L GTDO - Illuminated MIL with DTC P2096 - Built on 09/01/2012 and through 08/01/2013.” NHTSA Manufacturer Communication 10204996; published August 1, 2013.

16. Recall information

  • No recall information was supplied or established by the verified evidence.

17. Official manufacturer information

Official source: NHTSA Manufacturer Communication 10204996, Ford TSB 16-0031: https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/ffdd/tsbs/TSBS_RECEIVED_2020-2024.zip#nhtsa_id=10204996

19. Frequently asked questions

Which vehicles are identified in the supplied applicability data?

2013–2014 Ford Focus and Ford Fusion vehicles in the US. The TSB title also specifies a 2.0L GTDO engine and build dates from September 1, 2012 through August 1, 2013.

What symptom is verified?

An illuminated MIL is verified by the title of Ford TSB 16-0031.

What causes P2096 in this case?

Not yet established by verified evidence.

Is it safe to drive or charge?

Not yet established by verified evidence.

20. Sources & verification

ReferenceVerified
Ford P2096: Built on 09/01/2012 and through 08/01/2013 | EV Diagnostics